LSUA News Articles

LSUA Honors Four Incoming Freshman with the Coveted $20,000 Mulder Scholarship

Mar 25, 2024, 10:10 AM
Louisiana State University of Alexandria is proud to announce the recipients of the distinguished Howard and Eloise Mulder Endowed Scholarship for the freshmen...

ALEXANDRIA - Louisiana State University of Alexandria is proud to announce the recipients of the distinguished Howard and Eloise Mulder Endowed Scholarship for the freshmen class of 2024. Four exceptional students have been named Mulder Scholars, a title that comes with a $20,000 scholarship distributed over four years to support their educational journey at LSUA.

The Mulder Scholarship, funded by the generous donation from the estate of Howard and Eloise Mulder, recognizes outstanding students who demonstrate academic excellence, leadership, and community service. The Mulders, who were founding members of the LSUA Foundation and served on its Board of Directors for eight years, have left a lasting legacy through their support of education. In 2001, they were posthumously honored with the LSUA Distinguished Service Award, the highest accolade granted by the University.


2024 Mulder Scholars

Leah Buller will graduate from Pineville High School, where she has maintained honor roll status each year and completed six dual enrollment courses. Leah has demonstrated a strong commitment to her community through extensive volunteer work, including her service at the Central Louisiana Food Bank and her church. Her involvement in varsity cheerleading, Key Club, and the Buddy Club showcases her well-rounded character and leadership skills.

Abdul Hadi is set to graduate from Carbondale Community High School in Illinois, having previously attended North Allegheny High in Wexford, Pennsylvania. Abdul has been an active member of his community, particularly in his roles within the Muslim Student Association and Key Club, where he contributed significantly to service activities assisting Afghan refugees in Pittsburgh. His academic achievements have earned him honors from his high school and the National Speech and Debate Association.

Canaan Hoosier, soon to be an alumnus of Buckeye High School, has excelled academically while engaging in Advanced Placement and dual enrollment courses. His dedication to community service is evident through his volunteer work with the Youth Conservation Corps, The Arc Rapides, and the Louisiana Ornithological Society, among others. As a captain of the Buckeye powerlifting team and a leader in various student organizations, Canaan embodies the qualities of a Mulder Scholar.

Jaycie O’Conner will graduate from Vinton High School with an impressive portfolio of leadership and service. Committed to playing softball at LSUA, Jaycie aims to pursue a pre-professional degree in Biology. Her roles as Vinton High Student of the Year, delegate to Louisiana Girls State, and captain of her softball team, along with her involvement in community and church activities, highlight her exceptional leadership and dedication to service.

LSUA is thrilled to welcome these four outstanding students to our community as Mulder Scholars. Their diverse talents, academic achievements, and dedication to serving others reflect the values Howard and Eloise Mulder championed throughout their lives. We look forward to supporting their educational pursuits and witnessing their continued success.

Congratulations to the finalists who also participated in the Mulder Scholarship on-campus event, including: Sarah Bennett (Fairview), Abby Lynn Chumbler (Stockton), Alyssa Clinton (Buckeye), Dexter Compton, Jr. (Bunkie), Sydney Day (Denham Springs), Trevor Dooley (Loreauville), Kylie Dyer (Buckeye), Aalayna Edwards (Jennings), McKenzie Gillpatrick (Buckeye), Dulce Guerrero (Rapides), Kaitlyn Maxwell (Grant), Jackson Miller (Pine Prairie), Justice Sensebe (Red River Charter), Henry Sues (Alexandria), Ayla Zeibo (Bolton).


For more information, and to complete the application for the Howard and Eloise Mulder Scholarship, visit


Written by Adam Lord

Photo credit - Mira Parks

Image [L-R] - Abdul Hadi, Jaycie O'Conner, Leah Buller, Canaan Hoosier