Students Celebrated at the Annual Honors Convocation

Mar 22, 2019, 15:21 PM
Congratulations to all the students honored during the ceremony.

LSUA held its 57th Annual Student Honors Convocation on Thursday, March 14. Presided over by Missy LaBorde along with comments by Chancellor Huang and chemistry professor Dr. Anne Chevalier, the event honors students who are excelling in the classroom.

Numerous awards were handed out throughout the evening including the Middleton Award and the Mulder Scholarship. 

Discipline Award Medals for academic excellence were given to students at LSUA who has demonstrated outstanding competence and potential in their particular discipline. Nominees must have at least a 2.5 GPA, half-time enrollment, and nine credit hours in that discipline. 

Arts, English, and Humanities
Communications – Nathaniel Parish
Mass Communications – Tatiana Wilson
Forensics – Tristan Fish
Fine Arts – Rita Holder
Humanities – John Depril
English – Morgan Primeaux

History and Political Science
Political Science – Stephanie Davis 
History – Heather Wells

Alexis Harris

Disaster Science and Emergency Management 
Toni Green

Criminal Justice
Chad Doyle

Biological Sciences 
Chloe Lewis 

Math and Physical Sciences
Chemistry – Chloe Lewis 
Math – Justin Depardieu

Allied Health 
Medical Laboratory Science – Sarah Thrasher
Radiologic Technology – Tyler Meyers

Business Administration
Accounting – Madeline Tassin
Finance – Alvaro Navarro Carvajal
Management – Ladayna Terrell
Marketing – Mary Lewis
Entrepreneurship – Romelcia Philip
Management Information System – Peyton Pharr
Economics – Steven Ha
Business Administration – Kerri Smith

ASN – Phillip Brooks

Madison Ruoppoli 

LSU also honored those who have a 3.7 or higher GPA as well as those who made the Chancellor’s List with a 4.0 GPA. 

Students who are members of LSUA’s Honors Program were also recognized for their work. The students included: 

Jessica Bellard
Lindsay Bollinger
Ricardo Caliman
James Covington
Pedro Dias
Federico Gerber
Christina Haferman
Jessey Mason
Patricia Perez
Morgan Primeaux
Gonzalo Rodriguez
Carli Smith

For the first time this year, LSUA presented the International Student Excellence Award presented to currently enrolled international students at the freshmen, sophomore, junior, and senior levels who have a minimum 3.0 GPA, actively involved in student organizations, campus engagement, and community extracurricular activities. The students recognized included:

Freshman: Alvaro Garcia Manero
Sophomore: Cecilie Ting Mortensen
Senior: Kirstaena Venter 

Also presented was the Middleton Award which recognizes outstanding full-time student who are nominated by faculty. Recipients at each class level are selected by a committee and awards are based on leadership and service exhibited during the current academic year. 

Freshman: Emily Dickson
Sophomore: Leslie Huval
Junior: Anaice Hackett
Senior: Carli Smith

Finally, another new award was presented Thursday night. The Howard and Eloise Mulder Endowed Scholarship was presented to one continuing student who has shown exceptional academic success. The award includes a scholarship covering all tuition, fees, books, on-campus housing and meal plans. This year’s nominees included Gonzalo Rodriguez (Chile), Patricia Perez Diaz-Bertrana (Spain), Jossie Neumann (Pineville, LA), Eloisa Rubio (Forest Hill, LA), and Alica Brister (Elmer, LA). 

The Mulder Scholarship was presented to Gonzalo Rodriguez for his outstanding work. 

Congratulations to all who were recognized during the ceremony.