Faculty Senate Elections Minutes For: 4/25/2023

Members Present:

Beverly Alwell, Julie Gill, Jennifer Innerarity, GuoYi Ke, JiaLin Lei, Matthew Stokes, Cynthia Thomas, Lisa Bradford, Cole Franklin, and Michelle Waller

Members Absent:

Hal Langford, Kerry Ordes, Carol Corbat, Sona Kumar

Guests Present: Missy LaBorde, Debbie Wood, Purujit Gurjar

Call to Order: 3:05 pm and quorum was established

Matthew Stokes served as Secretary for the meeting.

It was announced that officers who were elected for the 2023/2024 academic year will not officially take their positions until the first date of the fall 2023 semester.

President

Nominations:

- C. Thomas nominated J. Gill for Senate President
- G. Ke seconded the motion
- M. Waller moved that nominations cease
- C. Thomas seconded the motion
- J. Gill was appointed Senate President by acclamation

Vice President:

- C. Thomas nominated C. Corbat for Senate Vice President
- C. Franklin seconded the motion
- J. Gill explained that C. Corbat (absent for the meeting) had expressed that she would be willing to serve as Vice President.
- M. Waller moved that nominations cease
- C. Thomas seconded the motion
- C. Corbat was elected by acclimation

Secretary:

- M. Waller nominated M. Stokes for Senate Secretary
- C. Thomas seconded the motion
- M. Stokes declined the nomination

- J. Gill nominated C. Franklin
- M. Waller seconded the motion
- M. Waller moved nominations cease
- B. Alwell seconded the motion
- P. Gurjar entered the meeting (as guest)

Parliamentarian:

- M. Waller nominated J. Innerarity as Parliamentarian
- C. Thomas seconded the motion
- M. Waller moved that nominations cease
- C. Thomas seconded the motion
- J. Innerarity entered the meeting
- J. Gill recommended that all members review the Constitution and Bylaws as well as LSUA policies and procedures prior to the first meeting of August 2023.

Adjournment:

M. Waller motioned to adjourn

B. Alwell seconded the motion

Vote: 10-0-0

The meeting adjourned at 5:22 pm

Faculty Senate Elections Agenda April 25, 2023 at 3:00 p.m. Live Oaks Room

- Welcome and Determination of quorum I.
- II. Election of 2023/2024 Officers
- III. Adjournment

